Posted in Uncategorized

Who am I?

My name is Marie.  If you’re of the female persuasion, you may be thinking, “Hey, that’s my middle name!”  That’s everyone’s middle name.

My husband, James, and I were married 9 years before we had our little girl, Dana, who is now 6 years old.  Almost 4 years ago, James and I decided we couldn’t afford to live in California and raise our daughter in a good neighborhood with a good school, so we moved from California, that amazingly repressive state, to Indiana, which is depressingly landlocked and plagued with intense storms and tornadoes.

I just finished my Bachelor’s degree in Business Information Systems from Ashford University earlier this year.  And last year I made the career change into Information Technology, as a Business Analyst.

Having made a career change, I am something of a newbie still.  Sure, I’ve been in the workforce for just over 20 years now.  Sometimes, I run into a situation that everyone around me just gives me the look, or a metaphysical pat on the head, and I feel like such a newb!  Its actually quite funny.  I hope I’ll be laughing about this in another 10 – 15 years.  Its strange to think about – I only have another 20, maybe 30 years to go in the workforce, and I’m starting anew.

I’ve learned A LOT in this past year.  I’ve found what I love, and learned more about my strengths.  In exploring how to pursue my creative interests in the scope of making a living, I’ve found that I am absolutely enthralled and enraptured by design.  Systems design. Product design.  Industrial design.  User experience design.  Interaction design.  I find it all fascinating!

So as a newbie to IT, and a woman still trying to find a place in the world where I can incorporate both my mind and passion, I don’t want to quit my job and call myself a User Experience Designer.  Or quit my job and gather more student loan debt.  Instead, I want to explore and develop my design-thinking skills in my current role as Business Analyst.

I look forward to getting to know others who are also starting out in User Experience design.  What is your background?  What challenges are you facing right now?  Leave comments below – I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

