Posted in Uncategorized

2016: An AMAZING Year!

There’s a meme that 2016 has been a horrible, vindictive year**.  For me, 2016 was an amazing year of accomplishment, rediscovery and reinvention.

Here’s a run-down:

  • First full year in my new career path as a Business Analyst in IT.
  • Finished my Bachelors of Arts in Business Information Systems.
  • Reconnected with my love of art, ideas, and sketching.
  • Discovered my strengths and found a new passion and confidence by focusing on those strengths.
  • Punched through obstacles to try new things by figuring out what was holding me back and worked through each one.
  • Talked to people I wouldn’t normally talk to, and learned new things with which I then went on to explore. This is how I found UX and Design.
  • Learned to be okay with experimentation and failure by learning from the experience.

There’s a lot in that list, from the concrete to the ethereal.  While I did a lot of learning and growing in 2016, the first feeling I had to get through was regret.  Why couldn’t I have found this out about myself long ago?  Did I waste the first “half” of my life before I discovered myself?

I am no spring chicken, as it were.  The big 4-0 is staring me down in 2017.  And I feel like I’ve always been struggling to find my place in the world.  Why do I feel like I finally found it?  Looking back, I can see that 20 years ago I was so close to this same path I am now on.  But I took another path.  Now that I’ve reconnected, it feels like I shouldn’t have left.

It comes down to the choices I made with the information I had at the time, much like the Retrospective Prime Directive.  It took some time, but I came to understand and accept the choices I made that led me down my path.  I was still exploring and growing, even when I was down the other road, and that allowed me to nudge myself in the right direction.  When it all finally clicked together, I was prepared and ready to go!  Bottomline: I didn’t waste my life, I just wasn’t ready until now!

Life is a journey, and I will always be searching, struggling to find my place.  My accomplishments, finding my strengths and reconnecting with my passions are tools that will help me more in the direction that is right for me.  My experience is my weapon of choice on the path I’m taking.

I hope to continue my journey of exploration and discovery into 2017.  One thing I’ve learned about myself: I love the process of exploration and discovery!  I never want to lose that.  I always want to be learning and doing new things.  And I want to help others do the same!

I wish you all the best in your explorations, and hope your discoveries will build on more discoveries in 2017!

FEEDBACK IS A GIFT – and I look forward to hearing from you all in the comments below.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

~ Marie

 

** Tangent: Of course, I wrote this before Carrie Fisher passed away.  I grew up pretending to be Princess Leia as a kid, and when I grew up even more, I found out she was so much more.  **Tangent on a tangent: How weird is it to think of a year as vindictive?  How strange to give human characteristics to a period of time?  Its like its so important to blame someone or something that people have to attribute human characteristics to a period of time to invent that personification of 2016.  There’s 2016 – KILL IT!   I know, I’m tearing apart a meme – a pattern that comes into being by the collective will of internet users – which seems pointless.  It’s just weird!

Leave a Reply

